Ramblings 5

I rarely watch more than a couple of hours of TV at a time and usually no more than two or three days a week. Last night (Saturday) I tuned in to the ABC and SBS for four hours straight in what was quite special entertainment.

It began with Father Brown, the off-beat detective program based on the GK Chesterton stories. I probably shouldn’t like it but I do. I’m sure I’ve been to the cricket ground which was featured – somehow the ring of oak trees rang true as did the tiny clubroom which I’ve entered as well although simply for cakes and tea and not to follow the sound of a shot and discover a corpse. It was my friend Robert Seeckts, a former member, who took me there in 2009 and, if it’s the ground I think it is, it’s located near the border of Sussex and Kent.

DCI Banks is one of my favourite detective series and the tension between the two women detectives (Helen Morton and Annie Cabbott) and Banks himself provides added drama apart from the exciting twists and turns in the cases they are investigating. I can’t miss this show.

Then it was a switch to the second half of Rockwiz in the 1950s with Col Joye as one of the special guests. The man is a handsome octogenarian. I had to be amused when he said he played to a lot of Elderly Citizens clubs these days and was older than most members of his audience.

Finally, The Commitments and what an amazing film that was, so full of humour and passion besides the brilliant music. It was only a shame to read afterwards that so few of the stars have gone to major careers. Nevertheless, an outstanding piece of work by director Alan Parker from the Roddy Doyle novel. Naturally, the songs were played at full blast.

One comment

  1. bern1509 · May 31, 2015

    Reblogged this on Bern1509's Blog.

Leave a Reply

